How Terebyte compares
Updated October 12, 2026
The facts, side by side. Every cell for another provider is copied from that provider’s own public pages, read on October 12, 2026 from the United States, with the sources listed below. Prices change and offers come and go, so check their pages before you decide. If something here is out of date, tell us at support@terebyte.com and we’ll correct it.
Storage services
| What | Terebyte | Proton Drive | Tresorit | Sync.com | Dropbox | Google Drive | OneDrive |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prices (US dollars, before tax) |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Free tier | Yes, 5 GB | Yes, 5 GB | Yes, 3 GB | Yes, 5 GB | Yes, 2 GB | Yes, 15 GB | Yes, 5 GB |
| Can the provider read your files? | No. Files and names are encrypted on your device; we never have the keys | No: “no one, not even Proton, can access your files and folders or see their names without your permission” | No: “Tresorit never has your keys” | No, by default: “not even Sync can read your files”; with email password reset on, its Terms say the account is “not configured on a strictly zero-knowledge basis” | Yes: “Dropbox manages file encryption keys on behalf of users”; end-to-end encrypted team folders on team plans | Yes, by default: Google holds the keys (data “encrypted in-transit and at-rest”); client-side encryption, where “Google cannot decrypt your files”, only on some Enterprise, Frontline and Education editions | Yes, by default: each file’s key is protected by master keys “stored in Azure Key Vault”; its terms say it “may use automated systems and humans to review content” |
| Apps | Web app today; native apps next | Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, web; a command-line tool for Linux | Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, web | Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, web; a command-line WebDAV server for Linux | Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, web | Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, web (Linux not mentioned) | Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, web (Linux not mentioned) |
| Independent security review | Not yet | Security assessment by Securitum; Proton says it publishes the reports | Penetration test at the end of 2025 by a firm it doesn’t name; ISO 27001 certified by TÜV Rheinland | SOC 2, report on request | ISO 27001 (EY CertifyPoint); SOC 1, 2 and 3 reports (Ernst & Young) | Google Workspace: ISO 27001 certificates, SOC 2 Type II reports; not stated for personal accounts | Office 365, including business OneDrive: ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2; not stated for personal accounts |
| Jurisdiction | United States (Terebyte, Inc., Delaware); data in the United States | Switzerland (Proton AG); servers in Switzerland and Germany | Switzerland (Tresorit AG, part of Swiss Post); files stored in Ireland unless a business plan picks another region | Canada (Ontario law); files stored in Canada or the United States | United States (California law); data centres in the United States | United States (Google LLC; California law for US users); data may be processed outside your country | United States (Microsoft Corporation, Washington); personal data stored where Microsoft operates |
| Business features | Company seats through a partner agreement, invoiced; no admin console, single sign-on or shared folders | Admin panel, user management, delegated admins, enforced two-factor sign-in, custom branding | Audit logs, admin policies, single sign-on, data residency choice, user provisioning | Admin console, roles and delegated admins, enforced two-factor sign-in, activity logs, custom branding | Admin console, admin roles, sign in as user, audit logs, single sign-on (Advanced) | Admin controls, pooled storage; Vault and eDiscovery (Business Plus) | Microsoft 365 admin center: access, permissions and devices; business email |
| Email address needed to sign up? | Yes | No (a username creates a Proton address; a phone or email check may be asked for) | Yes | Yes | Yes, or sign in with Apple, Google or Microsoft | No: an existing email address, a phone number, or a new Gmail address | An email address or a phone number |
| Payment methods | Card | Card, PayPal, Bitcoin, cash, bank transfer | Card, PayPal; bank transfer for yearly team plans of 3+ users | Card, PayPal | Card, PayPal, direct debit (some countries), invoice (teams), app stores | Card, US bank account, PayPal, Google Play balance | Card, bank account, PayPal, mobile phone billing (varies by region) |
Checked October 12, 2026. Prices for business plans are per user a month. Plans that mainly sell other products (mail, VPN, office apps, AI) are left out, except where they’re the provider’s only way to buy that much storage; those say what they include.
Signing up and paying: two more services
| Service | Email address needed to sign up? | Payment methods |
|---|---|---|
| Peergos | No: “All you need is your username and your password” | Card, through Stripe; no crypto, cash or bank transfer mentioned |
| Cryptee | No: “All you need to sign up and start using Cryptee is a username” | Card, through Stripe; “we legally can’t activate crypto-currency checkouts yet” |
Checked October 12, 2026.
Sources
Proton Drive
Tresorit
Sync.com
Dropbox
- dropbox.com/plans
- dropbox.com/business/plans-comparison
- assets.dropbox.com/www/en-us/business/solutions/solutions/dfb_security_whitepaper.pdf
- help.dropbox.com/security/encrypted-team-folders
- help.dropbox.com/installs/system-requirements
- dropbox.com/business/trust/compliance/certifications-compliance
- dropbox.com/terms
- help.dropbox.com/account-access/create-account
- help.dropbox.com/billing/change-information
Google Drive
- one.google.com/about/plans
- workspace.google.com/pricing
- knowledge.workspace.google.com/admin/billing/compare-flexible-and-annual-fixed-term-payment-plans
- support.google.com/drive/answer/10375054
- knowledge.workspace.google.com/admin/security/protect-your-organizations-data-with-cse
- workspace.google.com/products/drive
- cloud.google.com/security/compliance/iso-27001
- cloud.google.com/security/compliance/soc-2
- policies.google.com/terms
- support.google.com/accounts/answer/27441
- support.google.com/googleone/answer/9003634
OneDrive
- microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/basic
- microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/buy/compare-all-microsoft-365-products
- microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/business/microsoft-365-business-basic
- support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/how-onedrive-safeguards-your-data-in-the-cloud-23c6ea94-3608-48d7-8bf0-80e142edd1e1
- microsoft.com/en-us/servicesagreement
- microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/onedrive/download
- learn.microsoft.com/en-us/compliance/regulatory/offering-iso-27001
- learn.microsoft.com/en-us/compliance/regulatory/offering-soc-2
- microsoft.com/en-us/privacy/privacystatement
- support.microsoft.com/en-us/accounts-billing/manage/how-to-create-a-new-microsoft-account
- support.microsoft.com/en-us/account-billing/add-a-new-bank-or-credit-card-to-your-microsoft-account-c39dbc30-bc83-30c8-5ea9-d0d94e6dcfe4
Our own row comes from Pricing and Security.
Trademarks
Proton Drive, Tresorit, Sync.com, Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, Peergos and Cryptee are trademarks of their respective owners. Terebyte isn’t affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by any of them.